Skip to content

Work in Progress 1 – Initial Modeling

February 25, 2013

I have been doing a lot of modeling over the last couple of weeks since my last post. I made a gannt chart at the start of how best to use my time:

Ganntchart

This gannt chart starts from week 2 (when I made my first post and pitched the project to my tutors) and continues to week 13. It is an eleven week module, however, there are two weeks holiday in the middle. Which I intend to use.

I had already started work on my Willem Dafoe sculpt, so I started work on another two models.

For the animal, I decided to go with a chameleon. This should be a doable modeling and texturing project in the time constraints, given that I will be working on three models. My progress so far can be seen below:

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 21.23.09

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 22.14.13

My feedback suggested that supplementing my other project would put me at risk of self plagiarism, so I have decided to keep the two projects separate. I will be creating rigged characters as stand-alone showreel pieces.

I am going to attempt a realistic character in Willem Dafoe, but I would also like to have a go at caricature so I started work on this guy. It is very open to change at the moment and I doubt it will look like this when finished, however the general shape will remain. He is going to be a short, fat, strong character. I referenced the powerlifter/strongman physique when sculpting his body.

WIP01

I don’t feel that the body of this character is as accurate as it could be, so I have taken a break to give myself an anatomy sculpting lesson:

This was an exercise in muscle anatomy, but useful nonetheless; it is good practice using ZBrush, and encourages me to look for the underlying shapes before getting bogged down with surface details.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

